♦ ricotta gnocchi

its an overcast morning.
its the kind of morning that calls for the windows to be opened wide. there’s a refreshingly cool breeze flowing through the house.

its a perfect morning to be in the kitchen.

many of my meals are derived from whatever happens to be in the refrigerator at that moment. today there are a couple of containers of ricotta cheese leftover from making my blueberry ricotta tarts last week. since the remaining ingredients are pantry staples, it was a natural choice.

gnocchi is one of those dishes that has a reputation of being daunting & somewhat difficult, its quite the opposite actually!

please do try these light & cloud-like dumplings, i’m sure you’ll enjoy them and will make them over & over again….. i know i will!

btw, the gnocchi freeze beautifully (see note at bottom)

*** i’ve recently seen a few comments that the gnocchi did not hold up very well while cooking –  i made these gnocchi several times and did not have any issues with them falling apart. if your ricotta is very ‘wet’ it will likely need to drain longer than 1 hour. as these gnocchi are very light, the dough should be quite soft. but if you find your dough to be too soft, add a bit more flour; keep in mind the more flour you add the denser the gnocchi will be. & lastly refrigerate the gnocchi for about 30-45 minutes to firm up before cooking – this should help hold their shape :) ***

Ricotta Gnocchi

  • 1 lb (2 c) ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 c parmigiano-reggiano cheese, freshly grated
  • 2 T parsley, chopped
  • s & p
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/3 – 1/2 c flour, plus more for dusting

place ricotta in a fine sieve placed over a bowl. cover with plastic wrap and allow to drain in the refrigerator, at least 1 hour or even overnight. (***i drained mine overnight & less than 2 T liquid extracted – the more moisture you allow to drain from the ricotta the better***)

in a bowl, stir together drained ricotta,  parmigiano-reggiano, chopped parsley, nutmeg and season with s & p. taste and adjust seasoning before adding egg yolk and flour. add just enough flour until mixture resembles dough. do not overmix. the dough will be soft & slightly sticky.

generously flour work surface. divide dough into 4.
place first quarter onto floured work surface and gently shape into log.

cut log into 1 inch pieces. shape each piece using a gnocchi board or fork. place shaped gnocchi on a generously floured board or sheet pan.

*** refrigerate gnocchi for 30-45 minutes to firm up – this will help them keep their shape as they cook ***

to cook gnocchi:

bring a large pot of water to a boil. generously season water with salt. drop gnocchi into water and cook about 2-3 minutes, or until they begin to float to the top.

serve immediately tossed in a little butter

or pan-fried in butter, yes butter and dusted with parsley, lemon zest & a spritz of lemon juice

or with a quick grape tomato, shallot & lemon sauce

to freeze:
place uncooked gnocchi on a parchment lined cookie sheet in a single layer. place in the freezer until firm. transfer to a freezer bag. frozen gnocchi will keep for about a month.
cook as many as desired from frozen.

enjoy!
until next time….
jazmine

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Ari says:

    You make this look so easy! Wonderful photos; I’m looking forward to attempting gnocchi soon. :-)

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      Thank you Ari! Believe me, they ARE easy!

      Like

  2. Liza says:

    Wow…that sure looks delicious! You make it seem so simple and easy — I will definitely have to try this recipe out! All 3 versions look amazing! :)

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      I do hope you will give this recipe a try!

      Like

  3. MaryMoh says:

    These look very delicious. I like the ones pan fried with butter. I have to try. Thanks very much for sharing.

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      The pan fried ones were my fave =)

      Like

  4. Vangie says:

    Looks yummy, I love Ricotta cheese. I wish I can be like you in the kitchen – but I was born to eat not cook.

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      I love ricotta cheese too….I could just eat it straight from the tub!

      Like

  5. Kirsten says:

    I can’t wait to make these! I love that you gave us so many options of how to serve them! You rock!

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      Thanks Kirsten!
      Also might want to try them in a blue cheese cream sauce – just cream + blue cheese = heaven!! (& oh sooo indulgent!)

      Like

  6. dishdivajaz says:

    Oh no Clara I’m so sorry to hear that!!! Was your ricotta very “wet” to begin with? How much flour did you end up adding? & how long did you cook them for? I made these again for guests on Sunday & they help up just fine. I drained my ricotta overnight both times but probably had less than 2 tablespoons drain off.

    Like

  7. rachel says:

    i have been wanting to make gnocchi for a while and i think this is the recipe i’m going to use :) thank you.

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      thanks rachel!
      good luck with them!

      Like

  8. Priya says:

    Do you think this would work with whole wheat flour? Would i have to adjust the amount of flour or would it stay the same? Help Dishdiva!

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      I’ve never tried them with whole wheat flour; I imagine you would need slightly less flour as the whole wheat may make the gnocchi denser in texture. They may not be as light in taste but would definitely be ‘nuttier’!
      You could try adding the whole wheat to half of your ricotta mixture, test a few out & see if you like it!
      Let me know how that works out – & I think I may try that out myself!

      Like

  9. Blaire says:

    I just made these last night and they were so fun and easy! And delicious, of course…

    I did the pan fried version in butter, with chopped fresh basil and heirloom grape tomatoes, olive oil and some extra shaved parmesian.

    I boiled the first batch but they didn’t hold together as well as the pan fried ones :)

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      Thanks Blaire for trying them out!

      I’ve added a few suggestions to the recipe to help with them holding together during cooking.

      I’m glad you enjoyed them as much as I did! :)

      Like

  10. Steph says:

    I don’t know what I did wrong, but mine didn’t turn out :\

    Like

    1. dishdivajaz says:

      I’m sorry to hear that Steph!
      Perhaps the ricotta had alot of moisture in it? Also, did you refrigerate them before cooking? This should definitely help.
      I do hope you try them again!

      Like

      1. Steph says:

        I did drain it and refrigerate the gnocchi, I think it needed some more flour (I used 1/2 cup). I’ll try again soon!

        Like

Leave a Reply

